SMTC is committed to supporting a broad supplier base. As a part of our supplier diversity program, we continually work with many diverse small businesses including woman-owned, veteran-owned, service disabled, disadvantaged and Hub-zone concerns.

We have more than 250 suppliers currently that we consider partners in the small business and small disadvantaged business categories, including women-owned, veteran-owned and HUBZone classified businesses These suppliers provide more than 30 different component types of products, ranging from PCBs, connectors, ICs, mechanical assemblies, crystal/oscillators and cables.Both Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) and North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) codes identify a firm's primary business activity. The classifications of suppliers are as follows:

  • Small Disadvantaged Business
  • Service Disabled Veteran-owned Small Business
  • HUBZone Small Business
  • Certified/Registered/Self Classified Small Business
  • Veteran-Owned Small Business
  • Women-Owned Small Business

Women-Owned Small Businesses (WOSB)

The WOSB Federal Contract Program was implemented in February 2011 with the goal of expanding the number of industries where WOSB were able to compete for business with the federal government.

HUBZone Certification

HUBZone businesses also make up a growing portion of our supplier base at SMTC.

A HUBZone is a United States Small Business Administration (SBA) program for small companies that operate and employ people in Historically Underutilized Business Zones (HUBZones). The HUBZone program was created in response to the HUBZone Empowerment Act created by Congress in 1998. The federal government has a goal of awarding 3 percent of all dollars for Federal prime contracts to HUBZone-certified areas.

We will continue to cultivate small business utilization through quality assessment and diversity of products to achieve our company's desired goals and support Federal requirements.